The Ministry of Foreign Affairs is pleased to announce that the following candidates have been shortlisted for the position of the Malaysia's Representative to ASEAN Intergovernmental Commission on Human Rights (AICHR):

Datuk Dr. Denison Jayasooria

Mr. Edmund Bon Tai Soon

Mr. Eric Paulsen

Dato' Dr. FauziahMohdTaib

Mr. James Devanayagam

Ms. Raja NorAzwa Raja Alang Petra

Dr. RohaidaNordin

The Ministry invites and welcomes comments/views from the Malaysian public on the suitability of the shortlisted candidates to fill up the position. You may wish to channel your comments/views directly to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs at from today until 30 November 2018.

An independent Selection Committee will be established to interview the shortlisted candidates. Members of the Committee are:

(i) YBhg. Dato' Ahmad RozianAbdGhani, Director General of ASEAN-Malaysia National Secretariat, Ministry of Foreign Affairs,

(ii) YB Syed Ibrahim Syed Noh, Member of Parliament (Ledang); and

(iii) Mr. Jerald Joseph, Commissioner, Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (SUHAKAM).

The interview will be conducted in the first week of December 2018.

The current efforts by the Ministry in the recruitment process for the position of Malaysia's Representative to AICHR is in line with the Government's manifesto for a clear, transparent, merit-based, and participatory selection and appointment process.

Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Malaysia