For the first time, the President’s Award for Nurses are given to four exemplary nurses this year, instead of three. One of this year’s recipients is also only the third male to receive the award, out of a total of 45 recipients in the awards’ 15 years.

2.          They received their awards from President Tony Tan Keng Yam at the Nurses’ Day Reception at the Istana on 30 July 2014. The award is the highest accolade of the nursing profession, given to the country’s most outstanding nurses.

3.          Each year, healthcare institutions will nominate nurses for the prestigious award to recognise their significant contributions in nursing. A panel, comprising the Chairman of the Health Government Parliamentary Committee, the Chief Nursing Officer (Ministry of Health), and Board Members of public institutions, will interview and select distinguished nurses from the nominees to receive the award.

4.          This year’s recipients are:

  • Yong Keng Kwang
    Director of Nursing, Tan Tock Seng Hospital
  • Karen Koh Wei Ling
    Advanced Practice Nurse National University Hospital
  • Ng Wai May
    Advanced Practice Nurse, National Neuroscience Institute
  • Sim Lai Kiow
    Nurse Clinician, Khoo Teck Puat Hospital

For more information on the winners, please refer to the annex.

5.          The award winners each received a trophy, a certificate and a cash prize that can be used to attend conferences and training programmes of their choice for professional and personal development.

29 JULY 2014