Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen hosted a dinner reception for participating organisations, sponsors and key appointment holders of the National Day Parade (NDP) 2017 organising committee in recognition of their support and contributions towards this year's National Day Parade. During the dinner, Dr Ng presented certificates of appreciation to Gold award recipients and Principal Partners to thank them for their hard work and dedication. There are 17 Gold award recipients and 64 Principal Partners this year.

In his speech, Dr Ng said that a successful NDP 2017 would not have been possible without the strong leadership and collective hard work of all organisers, participants and sponsors. To commemorate NS50, Dr Ng also highlighted the significant participation and contributions of Operationally Ready National Servicemen who were front and centre of this year's NDP.

This year's NDP theme, "#OneNationTogether", is a call-to-action for all Singaporeans to take pride in our achievements, and to be confident in our collective future as we overcome all odds together. Dr Ng said, "Ours is an improbable nation. In 1966, when we held our first NDP, we were not given much chance to succeed, if Singapore were to succeed at all. But with each NDP, we show to ourselves and the world what Singaporeans can achieve for Singapore when we dare to dream and work hard."

Dr Ng also announced that next year's NDP would be held at the Marina Bay Floating Platform. He said, "Our NDP is a unique one and even more so, the Floating Platformthere are very few sites, if any in the world, where you can see air, land and sea elementsso the organising committee has decided that next year's NDP 2018 will again be held at the Floating Platform"

At the same appreciation function, Chief of Defence Force Lieutenant-General (LG) Perry Lim presented certificates of appreciation to Major Partners and Co-partners of NDP. LG Lim will also present the Silver awards at a separate appreciation event next week. There are 41 Major Partners, 170 Co-partners and 492 recipients of the Silver award this year.