Members of European Parliament (MEPs) from the Delegation for Southeast Asia and ASEAN (DASE) visited Singapore on 19 March 2015.  During their visit, they were hosted to lunch by Second Minister for the Environment and Water Resources and Second Minister for Foreign Affairs Ms Grace Fu.  They noted the good relations between the European Union (EU) and Singapore, and exchanged views on developments in the EU and Southeast Asia.

            The delegation also met Minister for Trade and Industry Mr Lim Hng Kiang, Speaker of Parliament Mdm Halimah Yacob and academics at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy.  Chairperson of the Singapore-Europe Parliamentary Friendship Group Ms Ellen Lee hosted the delegation to a tea session with Members of Parliament from the Parliamentary Friendship Group Dr Lim Wee Kiak, Dr Chia Shi-Lu, Mr Gerald Giam and Ms Rita Soh.

          The delegation is led by Chairman Dr Werner Langen MEP (Germany, European People’s Party) and comprises Mr Marc Tarabella MEP (Belgium, Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats), Mr Jeroen Lenaers MEP (The Netherlands, European People’s Party), Mr Richard Ashworth MEP (United Kingdom, European Conservatives and Reformists), Mr David Martin MEP (United Kingdom, Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats) and Mr Burkhard Balz MEP (Germany, European People’s Party).

          The delegation will depart this evening.

.     .     .     .     .






19 MARCH 2015