A bipartisan United States Congressional delegation comprising members of the Congressional Singapore Caucus is visiting Singapore from 20 to 24 February 2017. The visit is led by Caucus Co-Chairs Bradley Byrne (R-Alabama) and Denny Heck (D-Washington). The delegation also includes Congressman Rick Larsen (D-Washington).

The Congressional Singapore Caucus was first established in the United States House of Representatives on 9 October 2002, and was recently renewed for the 115th Congress. It comprises almost 50 members from both the Republican and Democratic Parties. It serves as a platform for building on the strong and longstanding ties between Singapore and the United States, and to deepen an appreciation of the wider security and economic trends in the Asia-Pacific.

The Congressional delegation called on Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong at the Istana this evening. During the call, PM Lee and the Congressional delegation affirmed the longstanding and multi-faceted relationship between Singapore and the United States. PM Lee and the Congressional delegation also exchanged views on regional and international geo-political developments, and underscored the importance of the United States' engagement and sustained presence in the Asia-Pacific.

The Congressional delegation separately called on Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for Economic and Social Policies Tharman Shanmugaratnam this morning. Both sides reaffirmed the excellent state of the bilateral relationship, and discussed ways to keep resilient the United States' economic engagement with the region.

During their visit to Singapore, the Congressional delegation will also call on Minister for Trade and Industry (Trade) Lim Hng Kiang and Minister for Home Affairs and Minister for Law K Shanmugam. Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen and Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr Vivian Balakrishnan will also host meals for the Congressional delegation. Senior Minister of State, Prime Minister's Office, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Ministry of Transport Mrs Josephine Teo will host the Congressional delegation on a tour of Changi Airport.

Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Singapore