Chairman of the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) Tigran Sargsyan paid a courtesy call on Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong today.

Prime Minister Lee and Mr Sargsyan welcomed the successful conclusion of the first Singapore-EEC Joint Working Group (JWG) meeting on 16 February 2017. The meeting was co-chaired by Minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry and Ministry of National Development Dr Koh Poh Koon and EEC Member of the Board (Minister) for Integration and Macroeconomics Tatiana Valovaya. The JWG is a platform to explore areas of cooperation between Singapore and the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), which comprises the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, and the Russian Federation.

Prime Minister Lee and Mr Sargsyan noted that the meeting was a milestone for Singapore-EEC relations and agreed to deepen economic collaboration between Singapore and the EAEU. They welcomed the expeditious ratification of the Free Trade Agreement between the EAEU and Singapore.