The Government has appointed Ms Vanessa Elisabeth Chan Yuen Ying as Singapore's Ambassador to the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, and Mr Lim Sim Seng as Singapore's Non-Resident High Commissioner to the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Ms Vanessa Chan will take up post as Ambassador to the Republic of the Union of Myanmar on 18 December 2017. Ms Chan joined the Singapore Foreign Service in 1995 and served as Director-General of the International Organisations Directorate in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs from January 2012 to June 2017. She was posted to the Singapore Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York from January 1999 to August 2002 and to the Singapore Embassy in Yangon from October 2007 to January 2011. While at the Ministry's Headquarters, she also covered the North America and Southeast Asia portfolios.

Ms Chan graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Law (Honours) from the University of Cambridge, England in 1988. A year later, she was called to the Bar of England and Wales as a member of the Middle Temple. Ms Chan obtained a Professional Qualification from the Board of Legal Education, Singapore in 1990, and practiced law in Singapore from 1991 to 1995.

Mr Lim Sim Seng is currently a Group Executive and Country Head of DBS Singapore. He is concurrently Chairman of DBS Vickers Securities Holdings Pte Ltd.

Mr Lim has more than 30 years of banking experience in Asia, North America and the Middle East. Prior to joining DBS, he held senior appointments in Citigroup from June 2008 to December 2009 including as President and CEO of Nikko Citigroup Limited. Mr Lim also serves in various public organisations and was appointed Chairman of the Singapore Land Authority in August 2014. He has been a member of the Board of Governors of Nanyang Polytechnic since 2013, served as Chairman of Singapore Technologies (ST) Aerospace Limited since October 2015 and sits on the Board of Governors of ST Engineering.

Mr Lim graduated with a Bachelor of Business Administration from Yokohama National University, Japan in 1983.

Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Singapore